Henley players sweep Skyline Player of the Year awards



KLAMATH FALLS, Ore. — Henley’s Tara Moates and Jesse Hilyard swept softball and baseball Player of the Year honors as the Skyline Conference announced its all-conference winners this week.

Henley baseball’s Tim Cleland was chosen Coach of the Year.

Link: Hear the Henley state championship baseball team on Goofing Around at Lunch

Henley’s Kayla Herr and Kelly Scott won catcher and pitcher first team honors, respectively  In the infield, Moates was picked along with Mazama’s Kaylee Grigsby. Savannah Mallams and Lynzee Wortman joined Grigsby as Vikings on the list.

On the baseball first team, Hilyard was joined by Mazama’s Dylan Smith as pitchers. Klamath Union’s Joe Whisler (catcher), Jack Bell (infield) and Marcus Paschal (first base) were selected. Henley’s Josh Overstreet, Drew Seater and Cody Dykstra also made the first team.

Link: See the Evergreen League All-Conference selections inside the 960 TSL Blog

All-Skyline Conference Teams

Softball – First Team
Coach of the Year: Charlie Chase (N. Valley)
Player of the Year: Tara Moates (Henley)
Pitcher of the Year: Meranda Zanni (Phoenix)
Catcher: Kayla Herr (Henley)
Pitchers: Kelly Scott (Henley), Meranda Zanni (Phoenix)
Infielders: Kaylee Grigsby (Mazama), Tara Moates (Henley), Kenzie Schmoll (N. Valley), Amamda Skaff (Phoenix)
Outfielders: Savannah Mallams, Lynzee Wortman (Mazama), Lexi Pittman (N. Valley), Bailee Tally (Phoenix),
First Base: Makayla Scoggins (Phoenix)
Utility: Delanie Tally (Phoenix) 

Softball – Second Team
Catcher: Darlan Hamilton (Mazama)
Pitcher: Mikala Mohr (N. Valley)
Infielders: Katie Allen (H. Valley), Daniele Armantrout (Mazama), Kady Kontola (N. Valley)
Outfielders: Sam Vezo (Henley), Kasey Werner (N. Valley)
First Base: Mikayla Dart (N. Valley)
Utility: Mikala Mohr (N. Valley)

Softball – Honorable Mention
Taylor Hamilton (Henley), Cameron Allen (H. Valley), Ennit Ritari (Phoenix)

Baseball – First Team
Coach of the Year: Tim Cleland (Henley)
Pitcher of the Year: Tyler Gulbranson (H. Valley)
Player of the Year: Jesse Hilyard (Henley)
Catchers: Kody Garrison (H. Valley), Joe Whisler (Klamath Union)
Pitchers: Tyler Gulbranson (H. Valley), Jesse Hilyard (Henley), Dylan Smith (Mazama)
Infielders: Jack Bell (Klamath Union), Marco Garmendia (N. Valley), Josh Overstreet (Henley), Joe Wardle (H. Valley)
Outfielders: Cody Dykstra, Drew Seater (Henley), Josh Cowell (N. Valley), Jordan Pond (Phoenix), Jamie Schmidt (H. Valley)
First Base: Marcus Paschal (Klamath Union) 

Baseball – Second Team
Catchers: Mike Edwards (Mazama), Jesse Hilyard (Henley)
Pitchers: Hunter Bradford, Albert Depew (Klamath Union), Stephen Parker (N. Valley)
Infielders: McKinnon Bennett (H. Valley), Kelly Grief (Henley), Jimmy Marquit (Mazama), Andrew Reynoso (Phoenix) 
Outfielders: Joseph Calzada (N. Valley), Paxton Kuhlman (Henley)
First Base: Mike Hults (H. Valley)
Utility: Aaron Hutchinson (Phoenix)

Baseball – Honorable Mention
Willy Howard, Devree Delarosa (Henley), Dylan Dupont, Kevin Olmstead (N. Valley), Roman Fretz, Jarid Norberg (H. Valley), Calvin Decker, Zach Kentner, Justin McCreadie (Phoenix)