OSU, Oregon start College World Series quest

BaseballLogo_lg College World Series CWS


The Oregon State Beavers and Oregon Ducks are both regional hosts for the NCAA Div. I Baseball National Championship tournament starting today in Corvallis and Eugene.

Thanks, in part, to their 22-4 home record this season, the Pac-12 champion Oregon State Beavers earned the right to host the regional and welcome in the Univ. of Texas-San Antonio in today’s Corvallis Regional (4:30 p.m. – Newstalk 1150 KAGO). The Beavers are a national seed for just the second time in their history, following the 2005 team that was ranked No. 8.

Texas A&M and UC-Santa Barbara are the other participants at Goss Stadium.

In Eugene, the Oregon Ducks are hosting a regional for the second straight year. Last season, Oregon fell one game short of the College World Series losing to Kent State in the Super Regional at PK Park in three games.

Oregon claimed the No. 8 national seed in this year’s tournament after finishing one win shy of a team record with 45 wins. Oregon lost 15 games this season, six of which came against other national seeds. The Ducks won four games against those same teams.

At 6 p.m. tonight, South Dakota State is Oregon’s first opponent in the No. 1 against No. 4 match-up. San Francisco and Rice complete the regional field.