Mike Keck Award winners announced

20120601_Elle Morgan


KLAMATH FALLS, Ore. — The Mike Keck Memorial Scholarship winners for 2012 were presented on Wednesday and both are from Henley High School.

Dick Ledgerwood is part of the 10-member committee, which selected Zorg Loustalet and Elle Morgan the winners.

Loustalet was outstanding in wrestling and cross country, while Morgan is three sport standout at Henley. She helped the girls basketball claim the 2012 OSAA 4A state championship. Ledgerwood says while the winners are primarily selected for athletic achievements, other factors of Morgan and Loustalet stand out.

Keck died in a car accident while playing basketball for Oregon State University in early 1970s. Resident sports historian Billy Mead recounts what the gym looked like on a night Keck was playing for Klamath Union and how the award came to be.

MyBasin.com Extras

Audio: Ledgerwood with more on Loustalet

Audio: Ledgerwood with more on Morgan

Audio: Ledgerwood talks about Mike Keck