OIT earns chance to repeat

NAIA OIT Champs Softball


KLAMATH FALLS, Ore. — Oregon Tech softball will defend its 2011 national championship.

The Owls fell behind early, but fought back against Corban in game 2 of the Cascade Collegiate Conference championship series, winning 9-7 and sweeping the three-game series. Now, OIT will start pool play at the NAIA national tournament next week.

Jess Plummer, Janelle Cromie, Sara Coates and Melissa Logan each had a multi-hit game, with all but Coates going deep.

Along with winning the league tournament, the Owls had several individual awards as the CCC announced postseason awards. OIT’s Taylor Schmidt received the Pitcher of the Year award and Greg Stewart won Coach of the Year. Kayde Schaefer, Asleigh Larson, Schmidt and Collins also made the all-conference team.

2012 All-Cascade Collegiate Conference softball team and honors

Player of the Year: Stephanie Nippert, OF, Jr., Corban
Pitcher of the Year: Taylor Schmidt, Jr., Oregon Tech
Co-Newcomers of the Year: Kate Santos, C, Fr., Concordia; Stephanie Vandenbusch, 3B/SS, Jr., Southern Oregon
Coach of the Year: Greg Stewart, Oregon Tech

All-Conference Team

Kyndell Andrews Concordia Jr. C Puyallup, Wash.
Shauna Collins Oregon Tech So. SS Roseburg, Ore.
Rachel Conard Corban Jr. C Merlin, Ore.
Brooke Davis NW Christian Sr. P/OF Sherwood, Ore.
Sam Genskay Concordia Sr. 2B Oregon City, Ore.
Amy Greenough Corban Jr. P Portland, Ore.
Jordyn Kurtz Southern Oregon Sr. P Tacoma, Wash.
Ashleigh Larson Oregon Tech Sr. 2B Central Point, Ore.
Molly Mills College of Idaho Jr. OF Burley, Idaho
Katie Moy Southern Oregon Sr. OF Oceanside, Calif.
Stephanie Nippert Corban Jr. CF Rocklin, Calif.
Kate Santos Concordia Fr. C Gladstone, Ore.
Kayde Schaefer Oregon Tech Sr. C Beaverton, Ore.
Taylor Schmidt Oregon Tech Jr. P Medford, Ore.
Nikki Shumway College of Idaho Sr. OF Boise, Idaho
Nickayla Skinner College of Idaho So. P Mountain Home, Idaho
Gabby Stover NW Christian So. C Portland, Ore.
Stephanie Vandenbusch Southern Oregon Sr. SS/3B Freemont, Calif.

Honorable Mention: Janelle Cromie, Oregon Tech; Sarah Jackson, Eastern Oregon; Laura Luther, Concordia; Jess Plummer, Oregon Tech; Chelsea Schriber, Corban; Julia Wilson, Southern Oregon.

2012 Gold Glove Award Winners
Pitcher:  Nickayla Skinner, College of Idaho
Catcher:  Kayde Schaeffer, Oregon Tech
First Base:  Janelle Cromie, Oregon Tech
Second Base:  Ashleigh Larson, Oregon Tech
Shortstop:  Shauna Collins, Oregon Tech
Third Base: Megan Mazanec, Northwest Christian
Outfield: Stephanie Nippert, Corban
Outfield: Nikki Shumway, College of Idaho
Outfield: Brittany Chestnut, Corban
NAIA West Baseball Tournament

At the NAIA West baseball tournament, Menlo upset College of Idaho 5-4 in 10 innings to move the the NAIA National Championship opening round.