Imhof, Sentman sweep Oregon Sports Awards

Imhof and Sentman


BEAVERTON, Ore. — Oregon Tech expected to receive a team award for its 2011 softball championship. The Owls also swept the individual small college awards Sunday night at the 2012 Oregon Sports Awards at the Tiger Woods Center.

Softball pitcher Jackie Imhof and track and field/basketball senior Bryant Sentman each received the Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year awards.

Imhof won the Cascade Conference Pitcher of the Year award, helping OIT to a 19-5 conference record and the NAIA National Championship – the first CCC team to do so.

Bree Larson and Andria Wheatley accepted the George Pasero Team of the Year award for the Oregon Tech softball team. It was the winner along with Concordia’s women’s track and field national winner.

Bree Larson and Andria Wheatley accepting Oregon Sports Award

Sentman won the NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championship in the men’s decathlon in 2011, eclipsing the school record with 7,097 points and was part of OIT’s conference champion basketball team.

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 4A/3A/2A/1A

Sarah Bennion’s achievements as a three-sport athlete earned her recognition as Wendy’s High School Heisman national finalist. Even as St. Mary’s moved up to a larger 3A classification, Bennion still completed a sweep of four individual track and field titles in the 800-meters, 1,500, 300 hurdles and 4×400 relay. She also competes in cross-country and soccer and is an all-state academic athlete in all three sports.

A talented three-sport athlete, AJ Hedgecock led the Pirate basketball team to the 3A state championship game, averaging 10.3 points, 3.7 rebounds and 3.3 assists and was named 3A first-team all-state. As a running back on the football field AJ was named co-offensive player of the year in 3A and helped the Pirates advance to the state championship game. And, at the state track and field championships, AJ won the discus title with a throw of 139-10.

Other notable awards

Jordan Hasay | Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year – Female

Distance-running star for the Ducks Hasay was the NCAA runner-up in cross-country, finishing just six-tenths of a second behind the winner. Third in the Pac-12 and first at the west regional in cross-country, Hasay won NCAA indoor track and field championships in the mile and 3,000-meters, along with Pac-10 crowns in the 1,500 and 5,000. At the NCAA outdoor meet, she ran fourth in the 15,000 and eighth in the 1,500. The US Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association named Hasay indoor track and field athlete of the year.

Matthew Centrowitz | Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year – Male

Centrowitz introduced himself to the track and field community by winning the bronze medal at the world championships in the 1,500-meters, making him the youngest American to medal in the event. He was first at that distance at the Pac-10, NCAA and US meets and was the first University of Oregon athlete to win a US title since Steve Prefontaine in 1971. Centrowitz owns the UO record of 3:46.46 and recently elected to turn pro.

Megan Rapinoe | Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year – Female

University of Portland alumna, Rapinoe was the breakout star for team USA during the 2011 Women’s World Cup, scoring a goal and had three assists in Germany, including the critical assist on Abby Wambach’s overtime goal against Brazil in the quarterfinals. Megan has scored 11 goals in 39 USA team appearances.

Jacoby Ellsbury | Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year – Male

Madras native and Oregon State alum, Ellsbury finished second in American League MVP voting and was named the AL’s comeback player of the year. The Boston Red Sox centerfielder also earned Gold Glove and Silver Slugger awards, finishing among the top six in the league in batting average (fifth, .321), runs scored (third, 119), hits (third, 212), doubles (tied for third, 46), home runs (tied for fifth, 32), RBIs (tied for sixth, 105), on-base-plus-slugging percentage (fifth, .928) and stolen bases (fourth, 39).

Merritt Paulson | Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year

One of the most dynamic young owners in professional sports, Paulson made a Rose City sports dream a reality by acquiring and building the Portland Timbers Major League Soccer franchise. Recognized by the Sports Business Journal Forty Under 40 sports executives, Paulson also orchestrated a $40 million stadium renovation that transformed newly-named JELD-WEN Field into one of the finest soccer venues in North America. In the Timbers’ wildly successful inaugural MLS season, the team became a local phenomenon, received national acclaim for its efforts on and off the pitch, just missed out on the playoffs and sold out every regular-season home game.