OIT: Award night Sun.; baseball wins; softball debuts

Hootie 2


PORTLAND, Ore. – The Oregon Sports Awards will be presented this weekend, with Oregon Tech being represented nicely.

The OIT national championship softball team will receive the George Pasero Team of the Year Award in Sunday’s presentation, as they became the first national champion from the Cascade Conference.

Two-sport athlete Bryant Sentman, basketball’s Joseph Foster and softball pitcher Jackie Imhof are finalists for the Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year award. Former Owl Justin Parnell won the award last year.

Check out mybasin.com this weekend for a list of winners.

Baseball: Oregon Tech 8, Madonna University 4

The Owls baseball team scored seven runs in the first two innings, beating Madonna University (Mich.) 8-4.

Brad Walter and Dylan Rogers combined for five RBI, with Rogers coming on a three-run home run.

Oregon Tech (2-2) plays at NCAA Div. II Cal State Dominguez Hills Friday at noon.

Softball opens 2012 season

The defending national champion and preseason conference favorite Oregon Tech Owls softball team opens play Friday in Redding, Calif. with Simpson University’s two-day tournament.

Over the course of the weekend, OIT will play six games, including Golden State Athletic Conference powers Azuza Pacific and Biola University.

The Owls plan on 46 games this season, opening at home on Mar. 23 against Corban. Oregon Tech was selected three points above Corban in the preseason Cascade Conference poll.  The two were the only team receiving votes.

Update: 2/10/2012 at 11:39 AM
From Mike Garrard, OITsports.com

Sara Coates hit 2 homeruns and Jess Plummer hit a solo shot as No. 1 Oregon Tech softball opened up the 2012 season with a 4-1 win over Holy Names Friday morning in the first game of the 3rd annual Simpson Field of Dreams Tournament.

Taylor Schmidt went the distance for Oregon Tech, pitching all 7 innings, allowing just 1 run on 5 hits while striking out 5. The Lady Owls next play this afternoon at 2:00 pm against perennial powerhouse University of British Columbia.