Drunk Drivers face stiffer penalties

drinking and driving

 

OREGON – A new law aimed at drunk drivers in Oregon requires first time offenders to install breath-test devices that allow cars to start only when the driver has less than a .08 percent blood alcohol level. The ignition interlocks cost about $75 and offenders have to foot the bill for the installation, then between $50 and $75 a month. Another law aimed at drunk drivers sets fines and penalties higher. District Attorney Ed Caleb’s office says Oregon averages about 25,000 DUII arrests annually.