Wrestling: Mazama takes second at High Desert



KLAMATH FALLS, Ore. — Mountain View claimed the title at this weekend’s High Desert Classic wrestling meet in Klamath Falls, with hometown Mazama getting second. The Vikings finished with 219 points, claiming four individual first place finishes – the most by any team. Klamath Union scored enough for a fifth place finish.

Mazama winners included Kaleb Winebarger pinning Mountain View’s JT Ayers in the 113-pound weight class, while Trevor Anderson took 2:33 to pin South Medford’s Nik Hegler at 132 pounds. At 145 pounds, Jordan Rose won in a decision 7-1 over Tanner Combs of Mountain View. Chase Anderson pinned Hidden Valley’s Ken Johnson at 160 pounds.

Trevor Derra also won his 220-pound weight class for Mazama’s number two squad, beating Mazama’s Jacob Cox 3-1.

Helping Klamath Union to a fifth place finish was Tee Nguyen defeating South Medford’s Tyler Thomas in a 13-2 major decision at 120 pounds. KU’s Alex DiBrito won the 170-pound group by fall over Eagle Point’s Sean McKenzie.

Team Results

Mountain View 260.5; Mazama 219; Hidden Valley 190.5; Eagle Point 190; Klamath Union 182; Sutherlin 107; Mountain View (2) 96.5; South Medford 94.5; Etna 90; Hosanna Christian 67; South Umpqua 64; Chiloquin 52; Eagle Point (2) 43; Ashland 41; Riddle 38; Klamath Union (2) 35; Mazama (2) 32; Bonanza 29; Henley 22; Tulelake 22; Sutherlin (2) 21; Sutherlin (3) 21; Gilchrist 18; Hidden Valley (2) 18; Burney 16; Mazama (3) 14; South Medford (2) 14; Dunsmuir 14; Mount Shasta 14; Etna (2) 7; Chiloquin (2) 6; South Umpqua (2) 6; Sutherlin (4) 5; Henley (2) 4; North Lake 4; Hosanna Christian (2) 4; Klamath Union (4) 3; Chiloquin (3) 3

Individual Results

106# Championship – Wyatt Slaught (Mountain View) def. Chris Bowers (South Umpqua) Dec 13-6; 3rd Place – Quinton Hook (Hosanna Christian) def. Zach Howe (Mountain View 2) Dec 6-5

113# Championship – Kaleb Winebarger (Mazama) def. JT Ayers (Mountain View) Fall 3:21; 3rd Place – Zac Mooney (Eagle Point) def. Damian Gonzalez (Eagle Point 2) Dec 6-5

120# Championship – Tee Nguyen (Klamath Union) def. Tyler Thomas (South Medford) Maj. Dec 13-2; 3rd Place – Eddie Perez (Eagle Point) def. Luis Ayala (South Medford 2) Maj. Dec 8-0

126# Championship – Jack McDonald (Mountain View) def. Levi Pomeroy (Eagle Point) Dec 5-3; 3rd Place – AJ Munoz (Hidden Valley) def. Bee Nguyen (Klamath Union) Fall 5:07

132# Championship – Trevor Anderson (Mazama) def. Nik Hegler (South Medford) Fall 2:33; 3rd Place – Nathan Lucas (Eagle Point) def. Anthony Oliver (Mountain View) Dec 9-2

138# Championship – Josh Marshall (Hidden Valley) def. Kyler Ayers (Mountain View) Dec 2-0; 3rd Place – DJ Jones (South Medford) def. Gus Bratton (Mazama) Maj. Dec 16-4

145# Championship – Jordan Rose (Mazama) def. Tanner Combs (Mountain View) Dec 7-1; 3rd Place – Chance Anderson (Hidden Valley) def. Derek Wood (Tulelake) T-Fall 22-6

152# Championship – Seth Sotelo (Hidden Valley) def. Hunter Hoeptner (Eagle Point) Dec 5-0; 3rd Place – Aaron Boatwright (Mazama) def. Forrest Samples (Mountain View) Default (Injury)

160# Championship – Chase Anderson (Mazama) def. Ken Johnson (Hidden Valley) Fall 3:33; 3rd Place – Andrew Bright (Mountain View) def. Chad Stork (Klamath Union) Fall 4:51

170# Championship – Alex DiBrito (Klamath Union) def. Sean McKenzie (Eagle Point) Fall 3:14; 3rd Place – Matt Miller (Mountain View) def. Jeremy Keel (Sutherlin) Dec 7-2

182# Championship – Hayden Kaae (Etna) def. Carlos Finnigan (Klamath Union) Fall 4:51; 3rd Place – Austin Beebe (Mountain View) def. Spencer Sotelo (Hidden Valley) Fall 4:44

195# Championship – Mason Montgomery (Ashland) def. Trevor Roberts (Mountain View) Dec 3-2; 3rd Place – Nic Baning (Sutherlin) def. Brad Hyatt (Hidden Valley) Dec 8-6

220# Championship – Trevor Derra (Mazama 2) def. Jacob Cox (Mazama) Dec 3-1; 3rd Place – Beau Grauf (Sutherlin) def. Devin Wegstein (Chiloquin) Fall 1:42

285# Championship – Jacob Jefferies (Riddle) def. Josh Cox (Mazama) Fall 2:32; 3rd Place – Omar Alvarado (Hosanna Christian) def. Brad Toombs (Gilchrist) Fall 1:48

Submit your photos from this weekend’s wrestling meet: sports@mybasin.com

College Wrestling
By Oregon State Media Services

CORVALLIS, Ore. – The dual between No. 16 Oregon State and 13th-ranked Wyoming Sunday was expected to be an equal match-up before the teams even stepped on the mat.

That was exactly what the 1,086 fans in attendance at Gill Coliseum got. The teams tied, 22-22, after 10 bouts but the Cowboys were declared the victors after taking into account individual points, a tiebreaker.

Both teams picked up two pins apiece – Pat Rollins and RJ Pena for OSU and Zach Zehner and Joe LeBlanc for Wyoming – in addition to one major decision. That left point differential, which Wyoming won, giving the Cowboys the 23-22 decision.